Friday, January 30, 2009

AGM Minutes online...

Members - and any other interested party - can now click here to view the Minutes of POW's Annual General Meeting.

Monday, January 26, 2009

AGM Outcomes...

The Annual General Meeting was held in Kingston on Saturday, January 24th. There was a good turnout of members who have renewed for 2009. It was a particular pleasure to conduct business in the Marine Museum of the Great Lakes, a venue with which POW has been closely associated over the years.

Full Minutes of the meeting will be published on the website in due course. Members will be interested to know immediately that the Board composition has changed. Three of last year's directors, Jen Bush, Dan Haslip and Christopher Haslip did not stand for office again. Their work for POW in 2008 is much appreciated and their support is sought in what will be a busy year for the group. Mike Hill, who indicated his willingness to continue service on the Board was confirmed as a director. New directors, who were elected to the positions indicated in a follow-up Board Meeting on the day, are Marg Barker (Secretary); Dianne Groll (Treasurer); Harold Vandenberg (Mooring Director); Steve Chew (Vice President) and Kevin LeBlanc. Mike Hill was elected to the office of President for a second year.

Members will immediately notice that, for personal reasons, Nick Drakich has reluctantly given up the duties of Secretary and Treasurer. Nick's commitment to POW - and his vast institutional memory and considerable local experience - will be sorely missed. It is the intention of the Board to co-opt him regularly, as his time and circumstances allow, to assist in its deliberations.